Our Story

Mt. Konocti Winery originates from family pear farmers who joined together in 1926 as the Lake County Fruit Exchange, an agricultural cooperative. From that day forward, Lake County Fruit Exchange operated as one of the major processor, packer and marketers for Lake County and Mendocino County pear farmers.

 

In 1976, the Lake County Fruit Exchange changed their name to Mt. Konocti Growers, to better reflect the local farmers the cooperative was serving.

 

In 2004, Mt. Konocti Growers expanded into the wine industry, providing services for wine making, custom crush, barrel storage, case storage and vineyard management.

 

In 2007, the Carpenter Family, Gayaldo Family, Hanson Family and Oldham Family – all members of Mt. Konocti Winery – began bottling wines. The tasting room, located in a 58-degree Barrel Room, opened in 2011. The Mt. Konocti Winery tasting room features timeless treasures of local history, a rustic feel and romantic charm!